Watercolour

Blueberries Watercolour

I have been looking for fresh inspiration of drawing/painting projects. The doodle challenge was great but now it is finished it’s up to me to keep some of the momentum going and to push myself to try new things. I had been mulling over a few ideas but nothing really struck me as a ‘I must do it now kind of project’ and then a week or so ago my talented blogging friend Vicki posted some photos on her Instagram of around her garden and I fell in love with a picture of her blueberries starting to ripen. It was the variation in colours and the way the light caught them that I liked so much and I thought it would be a fun challenge to paint them. A day or so later the same photos appeared on her blog so I plucked up the courage to ask if it was ok to paint them. Hop over to have a look at the original photo and whilst you are there have a look at her gorgeous crochet skittles blanked (love, love, love it so much).

Feeling brave – here are the blueberries in watercolour.

Watercolour bluberries painting

Thank you Vicki for the permission to use your picture and for the inspiration. My scanner decided it isn’t going to work so I have had to take a photo of it but I hope this is ok and that I haven’t butchered your lovely picture.

Hannah

10 thoughts on “Blueberries Watercolour

  1. OH. MY. GOODNESS! Ohhh Hannah, this is incredible. There’s a ‘grown up’ quality to this beautiful watercolour which I can see put behind a mount, framed, and put for sale – perhaps in a local up-market craft centre where they sell a variety of good quality, other artists makes (whatever they may be).

    Hannah you have to have faith in yourself. You CAN do this. You ARE very talented. You …. ARE …. an artist. An Artist.

    For now .. don’t put pressure on yourself, because I know what putting pressure on yourself can do (from personal experience)… so just continue to make beautiful artwork for now … until you have a selection of things which you could begin to have mounted and framed (maybe just one at a time so spreading the costs a little), and then, once you have a small selection .. take them to either a gallery which sells local artists work, or to a good quality Craft Centre and offer them the chance to feature your artwork. (They’ll want a percentage of any money earned from selling, so do remember to price your art at a price which covers not only their cut, but your costs – framing, mounting, paints, watercolour paper etc, AND … for your time and expertise, your skill).

    Do it Hannah. But … for now … you’re *just painting*. OK? ok. 🙂 🙂

    Oodles of love and squidges ~ Cobs. x ❤

    1. Wow, thank you Cobs. Being ‘an artist’ sounds pretty great. I will keep painting and pushing myself little by little. I am determined to get somewhere (although not entirely sure what the destination is yet!).

      I used my posh paints for this – they really do make a difference. Oh no, I’ve become a paint snob! Ha ha. Love Hannah x

Leave a Reply

